If you find that you have accidentally deleted an important message from your iPhone, you can easily recover it. You can either un-send the message or edit it.
Delete a message
If you want to delete a message on your iPhone, you can do so by tapping a trash can icon on your screen. You also have the option to delete all messages or select only those you wish to erase. In addition to text messages, you can also remove deleted photos from the Messages app.
The Messages app on the iPhone is usually found at the bottom right of the screen. It displays all your conversations, including group chats. Once you are in a conversation, you can tap the three dots at the top-right corner of the conversation and select “Edit”.
If you want to remove all the text messages in your conversation, you can swipe left on the message chain you want to delete. If you only want to delete a specific message, you can hold the message you want to remove and press the Trash Can icon.
Delete a message on your iPhone by opening the Messages app and selecting a conversation. Then, hit the Delete button.
Edit a message
During the first public beta, Apple allowed users to edit and unsend messages in the Messages app. However, the feature was limited to 15 minutes. After that time, users were stuck with their message.
Now, Apple is introducing a new software update that will allow iPhone users to edit and unsend text messages. This is the first mobile operating system to offer such a feature. It’s expected to come out in September. Before downloading, though, you’ll need to upgrade to the latest version of iOS.
Messages on iOS 16 have an edit feature. When recipients receive the text, they’ll see a gray text status message that says “Edited to: Hey there how are you”. They’ll also have the option to click on the “Edited to” tag to view the original text.
In addition, if you receive a message that’s been edited, you’ll receive a full list of edits. If you delete a message on your iPhone, you’ll get a notification that the text was deleted.
Unsend a message
If you’re looking for a quick way to unsend a message on your iPhone, you’ve come to the right place. Thankfully, Apple has added a feature in iOS 16 that allows you to easily do it. However, it’s not exactly foolproof. It’s also only available to those using the latest version of the operating system.
While it’s possible to unsend messages on older versions of iOS, the process isn’t quite the same. The recipient can still see the original message, but you can’t actually delete it.
In the latest beta, Apple has changed this. You can now edit your text within two minutes of sending it. This means you can make a few changes without having to worry about losing the information you’ve written.
To use this feature, you’ll first have to launch the Messages app. Holding down the message you want to edit brings up an options menu. Tap Edit, and the message will be saved.
There’s also a 15-minute window for editing your message. However, you’re limited to five edits per message.
Recover an unsent message
If you have accidentally sent a message that you wish to unsend, you can do so on your iPhone. This is a relatively easy process. However, it does come with a certain amount of limitations. For one thing, there is a time limit to unsending messages. You can only unsend a message for up to two minutes after sending it.
Once you have unsent a message, the message will disappear from the recipient’s screen. It will also appear in their Recently Deleted folder. The recipient will also be notified that the message was unsent.
To recover an unsent message, users must go to the Messages app. They can then select the Recently Deleted menu. After a few seconds, a menu will appear. Users can then tap the Recover button to retrieve their deleted messages.
Apple’s iOS 16 update brings some new features to the Messages app. One of them is the ability to edit text messages. While editing your messages may not be the most reliable feature, it can help you fix typos and incorrect information.